Rob McClure of Chaplin Awarded the Clive Barnes Foundation Award

Send to Kindle

Photo by Joan Marcus

Rob McClure, star of Chaplin, received the Clive Barnes Foundation Award in Theater for his performance as Charlie Chaplin.

Hosted by Michael Riedel, the third annual Clive Barnes Awards too place yesterday at The Walter Reade Theatre, Lincoln Center. The Clive Barnes Awards is a distinguished annual honor recognizing the work of young actors and dancers in New York City.  New York City Ballet’s Lauren Lovette was recognized for dance.

Rob McClure is currently starring in the title role of Chaplin in performances now at the Barrymore Theatre. He originated the role at La Jolla Playhouse. He made his Broadway debut in the 2002 revival of I’m Not Rappaport.  A two-time Barrymore Award winner, Rob starred on Broadway as Princeton/Rod in Avenue Q and most recently starred in Where’s Charley? at Encores.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 by Valerie Taylor Barnes, former soloist with The Royal Ballet, to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and thus, honoring the memory of the immense body of critical work and warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes. Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. The Awards are given at the end of each year, judged by a panel of experts in each field. Presenters have included Frederic Franklin, Cherry Jones, and Nina Arianda (2010 Clive Barnes Award winner, 2012 Tony Award Winner for Venus in Fur) and previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, New York City Ballet), Nina Arianda (2010, Venus in Fur), Mj Rodriquez (2011, RENT), and Isabella Boylston (2011, American Ballet Theater).

The Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes Edward Albee, Alexandra Ansanelli, Gwin Joh Chin, Barbara Hoffman, Jacques le Sourd, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, Damian Woetzel and Craig Wright.