Porgy and Bess, Once and More Get 2013 Grammy Nomination

Send to Kindle

Nominations for the 55th Annual Grammy Awards were announced Wednesday night in Nashville by the Recording Academy and, once again, Once is in the running for a major award. The cast recording for the Tony Award winning musical was nominated for Best Musical Theater Album along with cast recordings from two Gershwin musicals The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess, featuring Audra McDonald and Norm Lewis and Nice Work If You Can Get It, featuring Kelli O’Hara and Matthew Broderick. Follies and Newsies also received nominations.

Songwriters Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, Tony Award winners for Hairspray, were nominated as well. In the category for Best Song Written for Visual Media, the team was nominated for the song “Let Me Be Your Star” from the musical TV series “Smash,” sung on the program by Katherine McPhee and Megan Hilty.

Last year’s winner in the musical theater album category was blockbuster hit The Book of Mormon. The awards ceremony will take place on February 10 at the Staples Center in LA.

Here are the nominees for Best Musical Theater Album:


Danny Burstein, Jan Maxwell, Elaine Paige, Bernadette Peters & Ron Raines,

principal soloists; Philip Chaffin & Tommy Krasker, producers (Stephen Sondheim, composer/lyricist) (New Broadway Cast With Danny Burstein, Jan Maxwell, Elaine Paige, Bernadette Peters, Ron Raines & Others)

[PS Classics]

The Gershwins’ Porgy And Bess

David Alan Grier, Norm Lewis & Audra McDonald, principal soloists; Tommy

Krasker, producer (George Gershwin, composer; Ira Gershwin, Dorothy Heyward & DuBose Heyward, lyricists) (New Broadway Cast With Audra McDonald, Norm Lewis, David Alan Grier & Others)

[PS Classics]


Jeremy Jordan & Kara Lindsay, principal soloists; Frank Filipetti, Michael

Kosarin, Alan Menken & Chris Montan, producers (Alan Menken, composer; Jack Feldman, lyricist) (Original Broadway Cast With Jeremy Jordan, Kara Lindsay & Others)

[Ghostlight Records/ Razor & Tie]

Nice Work If You Can Get It

Matthew Broderick & Kelli O’Hara, principal soloists; David Chase, Bill Elliott

& Robert Sher, producers (George Gershwin, composer; Ira Gershwin, lyricist) (Original Broadway Cast With Matthew Broderick, Kelli O’Hara & Others)

[Shout! Factory]

Once: A New Musical

Steve Kazee & Cristin Milioti, principal soloists; Steven Epstein & Martin Lowe,

producers (Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova, composers/lyricists) (Original Broadway Cast With Steve Kazee, Cristin Milioti & Others)