Peesenters and Performers announced for 69th Theatre World Awards

Send to Kindle

Theatre World AwardsTheatre World Award Alumni Courtney B. Vance, Anika Noni Rose, Ben Vereen, Christine Lahti, Tony Sheldon, Lea Salonga, Isabel Keating, Phillip Boykin, Jessie Mueller, Jackie Hoffman, Wesley Taylor, Patricia Elliott, Meg Bussert, Crystal A. Dickinson, with special guest Nathan Lane, have been announced as presenters and performers at the 69th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony onMonday evening, June 3, 2013 beginning at 6:45 p.m. at the Music Box Theatre (239 West 45th Street), home of the current Broadway revival of Pippin.  Mother and daughter, Rosemary Harris and Jennifer Ehle, both Theatre World Award Alumni, are 2013 Honorary Co-Chairs.

Hosted annually by well-known theater journalist, Peter Filichia, the awards ceremony will be directed by Theatre World Award recipient John Tartaglia, with Board Members Mary K. Botosan and Erin Oestreich returning as producers of the annual event.

The 2013 Theatre World Award Honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance include Bertie Carvel (Matilda The Musical), Carrie Coon (Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?), Brandon J. Dirden (The Piano Lesson), Shalita Grant (Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike), Tom Hanks (Lucky Guy),Valisia LeKae (Motown: The Musical), Rob McClure (Chaplin), Ruthie Ann Miles (Here Lies Love), Conrad Ricamora (Here Lies Love), Keala Settle (Hands on a Hardbody), Yvonne Strahovski (Golden Boy) and Tom Sturridge (Orphans).   Jonny Orsini (The Nance) will receive the 5th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award, and Alan Aldawill be honored with the newly established John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement.

First presented in 1945, the prestigious Theatre World Awardsfounded by John Willis, the Editor-in-Chief of bothTheatre World and its companion volume, Screen World, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performances.  The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The ceremony is a private, invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World “family.” In what has become a highly entertaining and often touching tradition, 12 previous winners serve as the presenters, and often relive moments from past ceremonies and share wonderful stories rarely heard at other theatrical awards.

The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards Committee that includes David Cote(Time Out New York and “NY1”), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post), and Linda Winer (Newsday).


About TheaterAdvisor Staff