Drama League Awards nominations for 2013 announced at Sardi’s

Send to Kindle

Drama League AwardsIf you have ever wanted to be in a room with as many stars as are in the Kodak Theater in Los Angeles for the Academy Awards, the the Drama League Awards are the place to be.

The Drama League (Executive Director, Gabriel Shanks) has announced the 2013 Drama League Awards Nominees for Distinguished Play, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Musical, and Distinguished Performance Award.  The nominations were announced at a ceremony hosted by Patina Miller and Michael Urie this morning at Sardi’s Restaurant.

The nominations announcement begins the month of celebrations leading up to the 79th Annual Drama League Awards, which will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway) on Friday, May 17, 2013 at noon.  Tickets for The Drama League Awards, which includes pre-event cocktails and the star-studded afternoon luncheon ceremony hosted by David Hyde Pierce, are available by calling (212) 244-9494 or  by visiting www.dramaleague.org.

 In addition to the competitive categories, it was previously announced earlier this year, Tony®, Drama Desk® and Grammy® Award winner Bernadette Peters will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of her contribution to the musical theatre, presented by Emmy® Award winner Mary Tyler MooreMadison Square Garden Entertainment & the Rockettes will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award for the continuing efforts in promoting live theatre presented by Tony® Award-winner Tommy Tune;  and Tony® Award-winner Jerry Mitchell will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, presented by pop icon Cyndi Lauper.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.



The Assembled Parties

Manhattan Theatre Club/Samuel J. Friedman Theatre

by Richard Greenberg

Directed by Lynne Meadow

Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director; Barry Grove, Executive Producer; Mandy Greenfield, Artistic Producer

I’ll Eat You Last: A Chat with Sue Mengers

Booth Theatre

By John Logan

Directed by Joe Mantello

Graydon Carter, Arielle Tepper Madover, James L. Nederlander, The Shubert Organization, Terry Allen Kramer, Stephanie P. McClelland, Jeffrey Finn, Ruth Hendel, Larry Magid, Jon B. Platt, Scott and Brian Zeilinger, producers

Lucky Guy

Broadhurst Theatre

by Nora Ephron

Directed by George C. Wolfe

Colin Callender, Roy Furman, Arielle Tepper Madover, Roger and William Berlind, Stacey Mindich, Robert Cole and Frederick Zollo, David Mirvish, Daryl Roth, James D. Stern/Douglas L. Meyer, Scott and Brian Zeilinger, producers, in association with Sonia Friedman Productions and The Shubert Organization

The Nance

Lincoln Center Theater/Lyceum Theatre

by Douglas Carter Beane

Directed by Jack O’Brien

Andre Bishop, Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten, Executive Producer

Old Hats

Signature Theatre Company

by Bill Irwin and David Shiner

Directed by Tina Landau

James Houghton, Founding Artistic Director; Erika Mallin, Executive Director

The Testament of Mary

Walter Kerr Theatre

by Colm Toibin

Directed by Deborah Warner

Scott Rudin, Stuart Thompson, Jon B. Platt, Roger Berlind, Broadway Across America, Scott M. Delman, Jean Doumanian, Roy Furman, Stephanie P. McClelland, Sonia Friedman Productions/Tulchin Bartner Productions, The Araca Group, Heni Koenigsberg, Daryl Roth, and Eli Bush, producers

Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike

Lincoln Center Theatre/Golden Theatre

by Christopher Durang

Directed by Nicholas Martin

Joey Parnes, Larry Hirschhorn, Joan Raffe/Jhett Tolentino, Martin Platt and David Elliot, Pat Flicker Addiss, Catherine Adler, John O’Boyle, Joshua Goodman, Jamie deRoy/Richard Winkler, Cricket Hooper Jiranek/Michael Palitz, Mark S. Golub and David S. Golub, Radio Mouse Entertainment, Shadowcatcher Entertainment, Mary Cossette/Barbara Manocherian, Megan Savage/Meredith Lynsey Schade, Hugh Hysell/Richard Jordan, Cheryl Wiesenfeld/Ron Simons, S.D. Wagner, John Johnson, producers, in association with McCarter Theatre Center and Lincoln Center Theater

The Whale

Playwrights Horizons

by Samuel D. Hunter

Directed by Davis McCallum

Tim Sanford, Artistic Director; Leslie Marcus, Managing Director, Carol Fishman, General Manager

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

About TheaterAdvisor Staff